Clay Electric personnel continues efforts Wednesday evening, July 7, to restore service to members who were impacted by Tropical Storm Elsa. As of 8 p.m., 1,836 members remained... Continue Reading ›

Clay Electric Cooperative is grieving for a lost friend and co-worker. Lineworker William “Ziggy” Ziegenfelder, 56, passed away while working in the co-op's Gainesville service... Continue Reading ›

Vehicles from our fleet are currently up for auction online and more will be available in the coming weeks. Three auctions will take place; two will feature small fleet vehicles... Continue Reading ›

A forecast team from Colorado State University has predicted an above-average level of activity in the Atlantic basin this hurricane season. The CSU Tropical Meteorology... Continue Reading ›

The 83rd Annual Meeting video report is now available. You’ll hear remarks from the president of the Board of Trustees, Susan Reeves; General Manager Ricky Davis' report; and the... Continue Reading ›

Due to ongoing concerns surrounding the spread of coronavirus, the co-op has made the difficult decision to cancel the gathering portion of Annual Meeting for the second year in a... Continue Reading ›

Clay Electric members elect trustees at co-op's Annual Meeting

KEYSTONE HEIGHTS, Fla. – Clay Electric Cooperative’s members voted to elect three members to the board of trustees during the co-op’s 76th annual meeting on Thursday, March 20. Members who attended the meeting at the cooperative’s central office also approved four amendments to Clay Electric’s bylaws.

In the District 6 board of trustees election, Jimmy Wilson defeated Julia O’Sullivan. Wilson received 864 votes to O’Sullivan’s 234. Kelley Smith, incumbent trustee for District 2, was re-elected with 1,054 votes (no opposition), as was Carl Malphurs, incumbent trustee for District 4, with 1,035 votes (no opposition).

Members approved four amendments to the cooperative’s bylaws. The amendments addressed memberships, special meetings and the process for nominating trustee candidates. In addition, one of the amendments approved will permit absentee voting at future co-op elections.

Congressman Ted Yoho stopped by the event and spoke briefly about energy policy issues.

The co-op estimated that approximately 3,000 people attended this year’s annual meeting. Members who attended the day-long annual meeting also had opportunities to participate in several health screenings offered at a health fair, visit a variety of energy exhibits and listen to music by the Palmetto Ramblers. The winner of the grand prize, a 2007 Chevrolet Colorado truck, was Diane McKinney of Melrose. The co-op gives away a used truck during the annual meeting each year.

During the afternoon business session, General Manager/CEO Ricky Davis and Board President Susan Reeves spoke to the annual meeting crowd about the co-op’s accomplishments in 2013, as well as the hard work and dedication of the co-op’s employees. Davis said the co-op returned $5million in Capital Credits to entitled members this month.

Davis also commended employees for upholding the co-op’s number one core value, safety. Last year, Clay Electric was recognized by its workers’ compensation carrier for exceeding 2.5 million hours worked without experiencing a lost-time injury.

Davis presented the co-op’s annual Employee Recognition Award to Marsha Douglas, district office coordinator for the Palatka District. Douglas has worked for the co-op for 30 years and was nominated by several other employees for her excellent customer service.

“I would like to thank all of our members who took time out of their busy schedules to attend our annual meeting on Thursday,” Davis said. “It’s an important day for Clay Electric, and we appreciate everyone who attended.”