Clay Electric Cooperative is an incorporated, member-owned, not-for-profit electric power supplier, democratically organized and controlled by those it serves. Formally organized in 1937, the co-op has traditionally been known for its excellent service. The co-op is also a Touchstone Energy cooperative- a national alliance of local, member-owned electric cooperatives committed to high standards of service. Headquartered in Keystone Heights, Florida, the electric co-op is one of the largest in the United States. There are six district offices (Keystone Heights, Orange Park, Lake City, Gainesville, Salt Springs and Palatka).

The service area is divided into nine trustee districts with one member representing each district on the cooperative’s board of trustees. Members are elected to the board at the co-op’s annual meeting. In 2023, the co-op produced an annual meeting report video, and an in-person gathering was held on Saturday, Mar. 25, 2023 in Keystone Heights at the KHHS football field. The next meeting will be held Mar. 23, 2024.

Serving on the board are: Cindy Loose, District 1; Kelley Smith (Vice President) of Palatka, District 2; Susan Reeves of Hawthorne, District 3; Carl Malphurs of Alachua, District 4; Dewitt Hersey (Secretary) of Starke, District 5; Jimmy Wilson of Middleburg, District 6; John Henry Whitehead of Lake Butler, District 7; Jo Ann Smith (Treasurer) of Wacahoota, District 8; and Karen Hastings (President) of Citra, District 9.

The Board of Trustees will meet in the boardroom at the headquarters building in Keystone Heights at noon on Thursday, Sept. 28, 2023.

Richard K. (Ricky) Davis is Clay Electric's GM/CEO